MPP Annual Meeting

MIT Portugal: 10 years engineering a better future

2016 MIT Portugal Annual Conference
MIT Portugal: 10 years engineering a better future

Thursday, 30th June 2016

09:00 Welcome session

  • António Cunha, Rector Universidade do Minho
  • Bruce Tidor and Pedro Arezes, MIT Portugal Program Directors
  • Eugénio Ferreira, Chairman of the Conference
  • Paulo Ferrão, President Fundação para a Ciência e a Tecnologia

09:30 Panel I - A decade changing People

‘MPP: Changing and connecting people’  

  • Francisco Pires (FEUP), Impact of the Collaboration between Industry and Academia
  • Joana Dourado (FCTUC) , Minds In Transit - Where do young researchers stand?
  • Eugénio Rodrigues (FCTUC) - A performance-based floor plan design approach

11:00 Coffee break and poster session

11:30 Panel II – A decade changing Science

‘MPP: Reshaping science’

  • Maria Teresa Patrício (ISCTE), Sustaining research collaborations: the international partnership program with MIT/CMU/UTA
  • Helena Fernandez (Gradiant eHealth), Gradiant, helping companies improve profits through R&D and close-to-market technologies
  • Bradley D. Olsen (MIT, Department of Chemical Engineering), Replacing Polyurethanes
  • Maria João Sebastião (NOVA) Mimicking a heart attack in the lab: setting up a myocardial ischemia reperfusion model 

13:00 Lunch

14:30 Panel III - A decade changing Society

‘MPP: Creating technologies with impact in society

  • Pedro Rocha Almeida (Smarter Grid Solutions, UK), A curriculum that meets global demand
  • Paulo Maia(SilicoLife) , SilicoLife: 6 years designing cell factories for competitive biotechnological processes. 
  • Rui Magalhães (PIEP) , PIEP: 15 years driving innovation with industry

16:00 Coffee break

16:30 Panel IV - A decade changing the Future

MPP: Building the future - New Horizons

Douglas Hart (MIT, Department of Mechanical Engineering; MIT MPP Lead for Innovation and Entrepreneurship)

17:00 Closing session 

Manuel Heitor (Minister of Science, Technology and Higher Education)

17:30 Verde Honra