One of the top goals in the Engineering Design and Advanced Manufacturing focus area is to develop a new paradigm for engineering education that closely links high quality research to curricular programs.

The Engineering Design and Advanced Manufacturing (EDAM) program was established in 2006 to develop a new educational engineering paradigm in Europe with high quality research closely linked to novel curricular programs, and to promote a new entrepreneurial attitude towards knowledge-based manufacturing and competitive product development. We aim at developing human resources and knowledge integrated communities capable to lead an innovative manufacturing industry worldwide, building on existing resources in Portugal and at MIT.

EDAM Vision

Integrated learning education
Bringing together science and advanced technology for product development within a social and economic context.

Promotion of intellectual challenges
Developing a provocative attitude in the students, inducing a continuously looking for new and better products and technologies, leading to a better (and knowledge-based) society.

Creating leaders for technology industries based on strong and consolidated knowledge, and on the capability to transfer it.

The EDAM offers two education programs: a Doctoral program, Leaders for Technical Industries (LTI), and an Executive Masters program, Technology Management Enterprise (TME). Both programs focus on product and process innovation, and complex decision making, which integrate engineering, economics, management and social aspects.

These innovative programs are jointly offered by the School of Engineering of the University of Minho (UMinho), the Faculty of Engineering of the University of Porto (FEUP), and the Instituto Superior Técnico of the Technical University of Lisbon (IST), with the collaboration of numerous departments and laboratories at MIT. Academic staff includes senior professors and researchers from these three Portuguese institutions and MIT.

The activities of the EDAM area are coordinated across universities by the following professors:

António Torres Marques (FEUP)
Chris Magee (MIT)
Joel Clark (MIT)
Manuel Freitas (IST)
Olga Carneiro (UMinho)